FOTA14 Awards


The David D. Clark Award of Excellence is for longstanding and significant contribution to the profession of Occupational Therapy and FOTA in Florida. This year, Carol Gwin was recognized for her work at AOTA as Practice and Technology Program Chair, editor, reviewer and contributor to numerous AOTA publications, and serving as chair of AOTA Bylaws Policies and Procedures committee (BPPC) for 14 years. In addition, Carol was also involved in FOTA leadership. She was BPPC chair, conference reviewer and poster judge for many years. In Carol’s eyes, one of her proudest accomplishments in Florida was the establishment of the Alice C. Jantzan Fellowship by Carol and her husband. The Alice C. Jantzan Fellowship at the University of Florida is for deserving occupational therapy graduate students who portray exemplary leadership and academic excellence. What a great legacy to follow Carol into the future! Congratulations to all FOTA Award winners!




The Award of Appreciation went to Susan Wagner, who served as FOTA Accountant for six years. During that time, Sue facilitated the financial health and success of our organization. Sue also helped us identify and resolve some financial deficiencies, helping us create better and more cost effective solutions.






Becky Piazza received the FOTA Award of Recognition, given for outstanding contribution to the recognition and advancement of occupational therapy in Florida. Becky gives tirelessly of herself to develop the next generation of occupational therapy practitioners, serving as a student mentor and implementing a collaborative learning model at her worksite. Becky is using the skills she is developing as part of AOTA’s Leadership Program and revitalized the local OT Forum in Gainesville. We are sure you will go far Becky and we are glad to have you as Regional Representative for North Central Florida. 


Amazon searches starting from benefit FOTA!